adoption – luck, love, and living together as a family

Today is National Adoption Day.
Congratulations to all the loving families sewn together through adoption.  
“Luck” ( from The Cat Walked Through the Casserole )
I didn’t come out of my mother, 

I don’t have my father’s green eyes, 
No one in my family looks like me,
People are always surprised.

I think we’re a happier family, 

Than if we were all kings and queens, 
We’re so lucky we all found each other, 
That’s what being adopted means.

– Pamela Espeland and Marilyn Nelson (Waniek)
This year our extended family grew, through adoption, by two tiny feet, making me a first time Auntie!
If your family also had the good fortune to grow through adoption, you’re probably tired of all the paperwork and formalities by now, but please make sure you prioritize creating or amending your estate plan to ensure that your child or children will be legally and practically well protected and cared for no matter what life holds in store next.
About Danielle G. Van Ess

Danielle G. Van Ess is a Massachusetts (born and raised), experienced estate planning and small business attorney who helps her clients protect and preserve what matters most to them. To learn more, please visit: dgvelaw.com or call: 781-740-0848